Others, Before Me…Part 5

Let’s take a trip back up to the beginning of 1 Corinthians 13…verses 1-3…

“If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

Points I see…

  • Verse 1, whatever comes out of my mouth, no matter how grand or spiritual (sounding), without love it is just harsh, loud noise.noise
  • Verse 2, regardless of all the great feats I can do or are done through me, I am zippo without love.
  • Verse 3, no matter how generous I am or how I wear myself down, I don’t get anything out of it, without love.

As I see it, each and every item here is magnificent.  I mean, we are talking spiritual dynamo, here…tongues, prophecy, moving mountains, extreme generosity…this is like, Christian celebrity-level stuff.  But, all of it is crap (yes, I said it..get over it) without love.

Without love, these things will make self outstanding.  They become useless, as they can become a show, something to appear powerful or more spiritual.  In this state, they reach no one, bless no one, help no one…oh, except for the one doing these things.  Gives them that special chill right down their spine.

Right now, in my head, I picture Dana Carvey’s Saturday Night Live character, the Church Lady. churchlady

Whatever we say, whatever we do, no matter how great or how small, how wonderful or how simple, regardless of what heaven we may have reached or what demons we have fought – if love is not at the center, our efforts are useless.  Love causes these things to serve and bless others, to lift people up, give them life.  After all, love is about setting self aside, blessing others with nothing in return for ourselves.

This was short.  Next one, coming soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

