Beginning Rebuilding

I don’t know about you, but once in a while, I wonder why something is named a certain name.  This is a little about my motivation behind Nehemiah Project.

In a few previous posts, I have shared experiences with a previous church.  After leaving that church, my wife and I began to re-examine what we have been taught for years.  It was  time to rebuild.

About a year ago, maybe a little longer, the name of Nehemiah started swirling around in my head.  Plenty of swirling room in there, trust me.  So, I re-read about our dear old wall-repair guy.  I saw some stuff that I must have overlooked, before.

So, the wall has been heavily damaged…destroyed.  Nehemiah had a deep desire to restore the wall.  The first step…he prayed about it.  Then, it was the Lord who gave him the go-ahead.  Then, as we know, he got permission from the king as well as building supplies.

brokewallThe rebuilding project was underway.  Having taken part in some household remodeling, I can imagine that there was clearing of the rubble, removing damaged parts on the wall, (carefully, so as to not further damage the wall) assessing what can be reused versus what will need to be replaced.  This was not a small garden wall. For that matter, this was about rebuilding the city, not just the outer wall.  The rebuilding of the wall would give way to people returning and the city being rebuilt.

Overall, I see Nehemiah as someone who wanted to protect people and restore the home of himself and his people.  I suspect that he might have tried to do it alone, if no one else signed up to take part in the rebuilding project.

There are other aspects and details to Nehemiah.  But, this is not a study on Nehemiah. This is about rebuilding.

Many of us have been raised on doctrines that are contrary to the Gospel message. These doctrines have been added to and morphed beyond what was already scripturally unrecognizable.  This has not only affected the Gospel message, but has had an impact on society, as well.

Note…I do not believe that the US is a Christian nation, but I do believe the Church has some influence.  Not the lobbying and protesting sort (although, there can be a time and place for such things), but many people do react to what they see and experience with Christians.

We need to assess the doctrines that we have been fed.  We need to sort them out and get rid of the ones that have no integrity.  We need to rebuild what has been torn down by doctrines of legalism, hatred, greed and hierarchy.  We need to build one another up, with the love and grace of Jesus.  It is time to return to His original intent.

I don’t mind challenging these old doctrines.  Sure, some may call me a heretic.  But, by the true definition of a heretic, I’m fine with that.  I have no problem challenging orthodoxy.  I do my best to avoid heated argument, but I am not opposed to reasonable discourse.  No, not to change anyone’s thinking (well, it would be nice if that happened)…but, perhaps to challenge them to think and consider that the old way might not be correct.

Like Nehemiah, we need to begin by praying.  Just one on one with the Lord.  Gain His perspective and see what it is He wants us to change personally, then seek what He wants us to do with that.

As for Nehemiah Project, I have it in my heart that it go beyond a blog.  For now, I wait.  I feel like a horse in the gate.

But, I wait.

Not easy.

I don’t like waiting.  But, I also don’t like the consequences of charging ahead of what the Lord wants.

Been there, done that.  Not so much good.

My desire is that people move forward.  We need to get beyond the fairy-tales and made up doctrines.  We need to return to the Gospel…how Jesus did things while He was here.  We ought to get back to grace, mercy and love – love being at the nucleus.

Love is Who He is.

That is a solid foundation from which to build.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

